Labrador Retriever Forum

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
epilepsy

I have just learned that 2 pups, both males, from 2 litters of the same parents (repeat breeding) have each had seizures.
They are 3 and 4 years old now.
I am, to say the least, devastated.

My question is what should I do as far as my breeding program goes?

These are lines I have been woring with for 7 years. I have a lot in my kennel related, although none from the same exact breeding.
I have daughters of the mother and sons and daughters of the father.

What are feelings regarding mode of inheritance with epilepsy?

Do both parents have to carry the gene to produce affected offspring? Do we even know?

The sire has produced over 10 litters, most with outside bitches. I have not "heard" any negative feedback from them. But of course that doesn't mean anything.
I would hope that bitch owners would relate any information pertaining to offspring produced by my stud dog, but that doesn’t mean they will.

Do I need to washout this entire line??

How would I even do that with most of my kennel going back to these lines?
And how do I attempt to go about indentifying which line it could be coming from??

I have never heard ANYTHING about this problem in the lines behind the sire.
The bitch was an import, so it’s hard to say on her. Very limited info to say the least.

I guess I'm looking for some advice on how to proceed.

Re: epilepsy