Labrador Retriever Forum

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Show or not?

I have a 14 month old female that was placed with me as show potential at 8 weeks. I am still fairly new at this and I had to rely on the breeder to determine the quality of the puppy. Now, she is very small, not so much short 21", small head and tail and she lacks bone. She has some very nice qualities, good laid back shoulders, nice side profile, nice rear and she is a pretty good mover. When she was 4 months a labrador handler told me she was pet quality, yet the breeder tells me still today he would show her. I have had her out to shows a little here and there and she has won the class from time to time. I don't want to invest the time and money in her if she is not good enough for showing. My question is how long to I wait to make the decision whether to show her or not?

Re: Show or not?

Well, how much experience does this breeder have? Have they finished any of their dogs? Have you had your bitch evaluated by an unbiased experienced breeder/judge? What do the parents looks like?

I would listen to your breeder esp if she has won classes from time to time. Some lines take a long time to develop and mature. Ask your breeder if you have those lines. Another thing you can do is ask another breeder for a live eval if you live far away from your breeder - it is hard to eval a puppy sometimes from photos, but I would tell your breeder you are doing this so they do not feel you are doing anything behind their back.

I had one girl who took until well after 2 to really show what she really had. Really a slow maturer.
Sometimes it is so hard to wait, but worth it.
A

Ok, I don't want to sound harsh here but you said yourself you are new to this.
You need to realize that you are not going to be lucky enough to have a breeder just hand you a knock out puppy.