Labrador Retriever Forum

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
taxes: Hobby vs Small Business?

I have a tax question for breeders?

If one is a new breeder, and had 1-2 litters, I am told that this needs to be filed with the IRS.

What is the difference in filing with as hobby vs small business?

What tax forms does one need to file as a hobby?

And what deductions can be used?

Re: taxes: Hobby vs Small Business?

I started filing as Hobby years ago, but one day I got a letter from the IRS asking me to file as self employed. I had to pay less taxes like self employed than hobby, so I was happy. Not sure about the forms.

Re: Re: taxes: Hobby vs Small Business?

You should talk to an accountant about this. As an accountant myself, I have seen "dog businesses" get audited and lose if too many years of losses are reported.

If you are going to be reporting as a business, you will use Schedule C and attach it to your personal tax return. However, you have to be careful if you have too many losses for too many years, then you will be reclassified as a hobby.

BUT, I cannot stress enough, talk to an accountant.

What would be the disadvantage of being reclassified as a hobby if too many losses when filing as a business?

Wouldn't this be a good thing??

I guess what I'm asking is what is the difference between the two?

If you go back and forth, you will get audited. You file as a business or a hobby, not do one this year and the other the next. If you file as a business for to many years, 3 i believe with all losses, they do red flag you and ask why..Its unethical to file as a business knowing you are going to take/claim losses, filing as a hobby is the best way, but-
As before, talk to an accountant!

Re: Re: Re: taxes: Hobby vs Small Business?