Labrador Retriever Forum

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Mailing in OFA Official Xrays

It is day 20 now since my Vet mailed in my official Xrays for one female. I wanted to breed her for the 1st time and called OFA 2 days ago. They said they hadn't received them yet. I called my Vet and he sent them regular mail and says don't worry. I have been doing this for over 13 yrs and never had this happen. Would you continue to wait or redo asap????? I am calling again tomorrow to check, if not I will insist on a redo. I paid alot of money with no results to the Vet. I hate to blame him but it is his fault and I need to have my results for breeding, even though he said she will pass everything????? How long is the longest that you have waited for their receipt?????? TIA

Re: Mailing in OFA Official Xrays

Maybe 3 weeks tops. My vet started doing digital radiographs and keeps copies at their office. When I took our girl in to get finals done last week, she handed me a disc for OFA and one for us. I put the disc in a cardboard type envelope I bought at our post office and had it shipped next day service. Only cost $17 which is worth it to me to know that OFA will get it sooner so I get the results back quickly. If for some reason, the digital disc gets lost in the mail, I can always have my vet make another copy for me without paying for another radiograph.

I mailed my own OFA x-rays, two different dogs two different times, on a Tuesday and OFA had them by that same Friday. Results with certificates were back to me within three weeks of x-rays getting to OFA.

I don't know what to tell you but twenty days seems like a long time for x-rays to be in the mail.

Several years ago, I had a long wait and come to find out - the vet did not mail them when he said they did.