Labrador Retriever Forum

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
How to tell if a pup will like the show pen?

I have a 5 month old puppy, she been shown 3 times. The first time it was fun for her, I didnt stack her, nothing, just let her enjoy the ring. She seemed happy. The last two shows the other puppies in the ring were being asked to be stacked by their handlers, so I hand stacked my pup. She stacked fine, but acted like she hated it, she's not much a tail wagger the way it is, she's a very quiet, sedate, complient puppy. I was working with her today and she just does not like being stacked, and i don't know how to teach her to free stack (I'm new to this). She just focuses on me and watches for a treat, but has very little expression. Is this a good indication that the show ring just might not be for her?

Re: How to tell if a pup will like the show pen?

It's all about the bait so hopefully she is food motivated?
Teaching her to catch bait is the way to teach free baiting.
She will learn to love the "game" or she won't.
You'll know.
Just make it fun for her!!

Rule #1 - smile. You quiet pup will pick up on your attitude. Use lots of happy talk and make a fool of yourself, but have a good time. You need to do it if your pup is not one of the bouncy ones.

Where the heck are you showing a 5-month old puppy 3 times? You can't show in the AKC until 6 months of age. Give the puppy a break! Make it fun. You're putting entirely too much pressure on a young puppy.

BTW - what is your background - I've never heard a dog person call it the "show pen" - I would imagine that's some sort of farm animal term?

What? You never heard of a match show?

they are match shows. and were well spaced out.
I come from a horse background, and we call it the ring the show pen, I guess. im new to showing dogs.

That's so funny, I knew you were going to say something about horses...show pen..

Matches...yes! they are great practice for little pups.