Labrador Retriever Forum

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
OCD hock

This is my first time dealing with OCD of the hock. Puppy is 6 months old. I haven't been able to find anything that says this is inherited. Also, looking at arthroscopic surgery. Any one with anything to share?

Re: OCD hock

JMO but I'd wait a bit & then get a second opinion. A friend recently had a 10 month old "diagnosed" with OCD (shoulder) and after being treated with accupuncture for PANO, is doing just fine & dandy!

I had a disaster litter and 2 of the pups had this. One I kept and another. I read on here and listened to breeders who said I should get the surgery before 6 months. It cost me $1400. She is OK. the recovery was rough. The littermate went to a pet home. No surgery. 3 y/o now...owner just watches exercise..says sometimes the dog limps. The one I kept now lives with a family member--little exercise so I don't know how she'd be if she had a active lifestyle.
Bottom line. My reg vet said--"You took her to a surgeon--that's what they do." I would not do it again.
BTW The pet owner called a few weeks ago--this is the best dog he ever had--when would I have another puppy for him?? I asked about the hock--said it was no problem. I never gave a discount as I didn't know when I sold the puppy and he did not ask for anything later.

No to surgery. Supplement with Cosequin and do hydrotherapy for excercise.

I was told that often surgery of a hock can cause more damage than letting it fuse on it's own.

Good luck...sorry your pup has OCD. I know how frustrating it is.