Labrador Retriever Forum

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Cow hocked

Hi, I have a beautiful 17 month old black boy that I've just started showing. My question is this...he fits the standard in every way, but is slightly cow-hocked in the rear. Is there a way to "fix" this problem? I'm new to the sport, and eventually plan to breed in a couple of years. If there is a way to straighten his cow hocks and it's successful, should I use this boy as a stud knowing that he had the problem to begin with? He has a very strong pedigree, similar to that of Beechcroft Study's Top Secret.

Re: Cow hocked

Oops, the preceeding ! was supposed to be a ?, lol

Just exactly what do you mean by "fixed" and "if successful"? Are you talking about something surgical???

Emily does he show "hockey" in his movement or is it it just when he stands around? If his knees turn in on his gait, I would be concerned about it not going away with age. Sometimes with a slightly over angled rear you will see this until the dog is fully mature.

I agree with Gregg. I have seen dogs that have a lot of rear angle stand slightly hocky. Usually it goes away when they mature and fill out. They may always stand and move a little close in the rear, but hocky movement is a fault that cannot be changed.
You can try to build up their rear by having them walk and run up and down hills a lot to develope muscle.

When he stands, it's the same as when he walks...no better, no worse. His back legs are pretty close, and he seems to be a slow maturer with some filling out left to do(especially in the rear). It's not horrible by any means, but enough that I notice it and I believe it's having an impact on him in the show ring. He gaits well, and has a very fluid movement. I'm not looking to surgically "fix" it, I was just looking for certain exercises to make it less noticable. I'll try running him on hills and see what happens. Thanks!