Labrador Retriever Forum

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
What class do I enter?

I was at a local show today and a well known handler told me my almost 15 month old boy should no longer do puppy classes. He also told me he would do better at specialty shows. He told he I should do Am-Bred with him. My question is I'm a novice, so do I go in Novice or Am-bred? Trust me I need all the help I can get

Re: What class do I enter?

I was told you are supposed to enter the classes that pertain to the correct age. A 15 month old boy can still be in the 12-18 month class. That is not a puppy class.

You'll hear lots of confusing info about Novice and Am Bred. Might as well throw the new Amateur Owner Handler in there too. I don't see anything wrong with the classes, but you do want to be in with some other dogs to gain the experience in the ring. These 3 classes often don't have alot of entries unless you are doing a huge show like Potomac.

That said, sometimes I do like to take advantage of the break in entry fee price by using Bred By or AOH so that I can afford 2 days instead of one.

Short answer, I would keep him in 12-18 until he's over 18 months.

If you enter a Specialty, keep your boy in the 15 - 18 month sweeps class and the 12 - 18 mo regular class. Good luck