Labrador Retriever Forum

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Not eating much, what do I do?

Hello all, I have an interesting problem. About a week ago, my 18 month old intact black boy started slowing WAY down eating. Granted he has never bolted his food, but always ate at a much quicker pace than he is now. What he used to eat in 5-10 minutes now takes him a good 20 minutes, and that's only because I push the issue. He also will only eat about 1/2 of what he normally used to. I feed him Pro-Plan Large Breed, do a morning feeding and evening feeding. He used to eat 2 1/2 cups each feeding but now I'm lucky if I can get 1 cup each feeding into him. He eats a piece or two at a time, leaves the dish to go poke around nearby a little, then comes back for a bit more. I had him to the vet the day before yesterday, and was told that he may have a virus possibly picked up at a recent show, or maybe my 7 month old female could be coming into her first heat. I'm a newbie, and she's the only female I have besides a 3 month old pup I keep separated for now. My male has never been around a girl in heat before, but don't worry... everybody is well separated so we don't have any "accidents". I've been showing this boy extensively, and have several shows coming up this month including a Specialty. I don't want him dropping weight, as I have him at his optimum now. I've tried changing food, to no avail. He isn't vomiting, stool is normal. Any opinions? Anybody experience this?

Re: Not eating much, what do I do?

Could be that he just doesn't need the larger amount of food anymore.

Try giving him just one cup morning and night and see what he does with it.