Labrador Retriever Forum

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
oops litter

No flames please!!! I have been showing and breeding for over 20 years. I've finished several show champions, always put obedience titles of some kind on my dogs and have dabbled in hunt test, tracking and anything you can do with a lab. I've only bred litters when I've wanted a puppy for myself of course after gaining the proper clearances first - always!! Well.... I have a bitch I bought 2 + years ago (from show ch., cleared parents),she didn't OFA. I currently own 3 other females and 1 male who is less than 1 years old (with prelims good).... Through a series of events, she was bred... I don't know if she in whelp but I'm at a loss as to what to do. My vet says spay her - I refuse, just in case she is in whelp - I have a problem with that. BUT then I have a litter of puppies without clearances. I'm willing to keep every one of them until we can get prelims on them but then what?? Any suggestions would be appreciated...

Re: oops litter

Many years ago the same thing happened to me. I whelped the litter, I also sent them home with a contract, letting all the new owners know that this wasn't a planned litter. I told them that one of the dogs didn't pass their clearances. I wrote the contract with all the same guarantee's on hips and eye's. Not one puppy ended up having a problem.

give them away ( or sell at very low price) to good homes on a spay/neuter contract & let owners know full circumstances of breeding....

Oh my! Don't GIVE them away!!
They are just as good as any of the breeders pups who breed purposely knowing full well one of the parents didn't pass something!! I can think of MANY!!
You sell them, stand behind them and since HD and ED are 100% unpredictable traits, you rest assured that likely they will all be just fine!

breeder
Oh my! Don't GIVE them away!!