Labrador Retriever Forum

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
AKC & UKC

Only asking as I am new to the Lab world
I know that my labs have their AKC paperwork....
I recently saw an ad where the dogs had UKC paper not AKC....
Are you supposed to have 2 sets of papers that I am not aware of
& what is the UKC...I assume that is in the United Kingdom???? I am correct?
Can someone help me with this?

Re: AKC & UKC

newbie3

The reputable UKC club is the United Kennel Club and they have been in business almost as long as AKC. UKC events are geared more towards the perfomance end of the dog world and they offer coon hunts, terrier trials, hunting dog trials, obedience, weight pull, etc. They also offer conformation shows, but want to keep the emphasis on the dog, with performance in mind. They have a UKC parent club as well as their own written standard for the Labrador Retriever (with NO disqualifications-LOL). At conformation shows, they are much more informal than AKC shows and there are no professional handlers allowed. The title of UKC Champion is as good as the competition. The more AKC breeders who getting into UKC make the quality go up and the title more difficult to gain. They also offer a UKC Grand Champion title which is even harder to get. UKC is a GREAT alternative to those getting tired of the politics, expense and frustrations of the AKC.

Myself, I've shown both AKC and UKC and have Champions in both clubs. The last dog I titled in the UKC shows has also won BISS (Best In Specialty Show) at an AKC show. He won the coveted California 5 point major for that win and now that he's maturing so well, I hope to get him out to finish his AKC Championship. It was nice to have the UKC shows available to me when he was younger for the great experience for him.