Labrador Retriever Forum

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Pup's hip "popped", need advice

I'm pretty new to all of this, and I'm very upset about something that happened yesterday at the vet's office. I took my 16 week old female show prospect to the vet for her final distemper of the year. My vet has always been very thorough, and all my dogs get a full exam whenever they are seen by him no matter if there there for just a vaccine. Upon rotating her left hip, I noticed a funny look on the vet's face, and he told me that he felt her hip "pop". He said he only felt it once on the first rotation, and could not get it to do it again after several more. The other hip was fine, although I could tell she was uncomfortable through the whole exam of both her hips. The vet said to definately have her OFA prelimed at 12 months of age, but my question is what would all of you do with this? Should I get her prelimed at 6 months? Should I change her diet or add a suppliment? She gets plenty of exercise, looks very proportionate, and weighs 29.8 pounds. She hasn't had any injuries in the past, and her pedigree is outstanding...nothing lower than OFA good in her geneology. Am I being extremely paranoid about all this, or do you all see a definate problem looming?

Re: Pup's hip "popped", need advice

A vet should never palpate the hip of a puppy that young. The femoral heads are not calcified yet. Vets can permanently damage the hips that way, pull them right out of the sockets. The joints are like rubber. It is hard to know what your vet did given a brief email description but be careful.

Prior to the exam, did the puppy move normally? Did it appear to be uncomfortable when moving? Did that change after the exam?

It is possible that she has the beginnings of HD. But then again, it was just once and it hasnt reoccurred? Is she still looking uneasy when she walks? Was she fine when she went in?

Get her prelims done and go from there.