Labrador Retriever Forum

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
puppy vaccines new to puppy care

Hi fellow lab lovers!

I am new to dog caringdog upbringing. I just want it to be very healthy. I got it yesterday and The breeder where I got the pup told me that she already had 2 "6 in 1" vaccines and twice dewormed. Can you help me identify how many more shotsvaccinesdeworming my cute puppy needs? Also, the current keeble of my puppy is beef pro puppy. Any suggestions on what diet she should be in? BTW Im residing here in the manila.

Re: puppy vaccines new to puppy care

The best thing for you to do is visit you vet this week. Have your pup checked for overall health and discuss with your vet the course of vaccinations and timing.
Enjoy your pup.

thanks!

do you have any suggested vaccine itinerary?

I honestly do everything through my vet. I trust her completely and she is always heading to Cornell for the most recent information on care. I am also very small so it doesn't make sense for me to do my own vacs. Also, the drug companies will not usually honor any guarantees on their vaccines unless received by a vet.
My pups get first vacs at 7 weeks and then should go back at 9 weeks. I forget after that. I should remember but I am getting old (!) and just depend on my vets reminders. I do worm them more often, 2,4,6,8,10,12 etc. until 4 months.
For any new puppy buyer, a good vet is your best friend. That and any reputable breeder willing to give you advice. My buyers are always sending emails asking for my thoughts, but usually AFTER they see their vet.
Good luck.