Labrador Retriever Forum

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Looking for working lines/ Stud dog B(c)

Newbie here,
looking for a moderate stud B(c) with working lines behind him.
thanks in advance!

Re: Looking for working lines/ Stud dog B(c)

Maybe ask the breeder of your girl for suggestions as to what works with the line? Some of the NJ Top Dog Obedience crew was on Fox News this morning. Therefore the first dog that comes to my mind is National Obedience Champion "Tyler," a Gates son who goes back to Lean Mac etc. of field trial lines. Petra Ford of NJ is in New York at the AKC Meet the Breeds event, so maybe we can see that good working Lab on TV today or tomorrow. I think Rhumbline has or had some of his pups. I am not affiliated with Petra, Rhumbline, or either's breeding programs AT ALL, but a gal who adopted one of my rescues rode into NYC with Petra this morning, so he is on my mind.

What is your definition of working lines? Obedience/agility/hunting? JH/SH/MH lines? Field-trial lines? Can you be more specific?

By working lines I consider most any kind of "working title". Field/ Hunt tests,obedience, tracking, agility. I know there are some fabulous dogs with the ability but not always the opportunity to do these things.. but I would like to see some kind of history in the pedigree/line that indicates working ability,intelligence, and instinct are still in there.

thanks.

And to add to that- there is a litter of pups on the ground now sired by Tyler. Unfortunately, I can't remember who he was bred to. But if you contact Petra she can tell you.

I thought you meant show but working lines. I was having a hard time coming up with one. There are many show lines with nice work ability but can't seem to come up with many Bc. You look and not much history back there. Willcare, Fawnhaven, Salona Hills lines have always had that ability but don't know if they have Bc or know of one. Show lines.

Hi,