Labrador Retriever Forum

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
type over structure?

I've been breeding for 13 years, have a few nice dogs and a few who would not make the ring, and yes, I know the difference.

I have a lovely structured girl 19 months old, beautiful angles front and rear, gorgeous shoulders, a good amount of body, short coupled, nice tight feet, long flowing neck, all in proportion, and so she moves like a dream.

Problem is, she has no head, coat or tail.

I had an aspiring judge tell me to spay her. I really thought she was kidding. She told me she would never put up a dog lacking in 'type', as she put it, the head, coat and tail, regardless of the structure underneath. That she would likely reward a dog in the ring with less structurally than one lacking in these three things.

So I was wondering, is this what you would do? She's a beautiful package.

I've been told heads can be fixed in one breeding, tails in one breeding, coat can be fixed in one breeding. Do you think this is true?

Re: type over structure?

Personally I think that is BS!

Head, coat and tail are very important in the labrador, but I feel structure
should be equally as important. I see so many labradors that only have
head,coat,tail and type being put up all the time and it puzzles me!
I can't help to think that a good shoulder and neck would help improve
elbow problems.

I would breed your girl to a nice dog with the things she is missing,
you may not fix everything in one generation but if you can keep the
structure and improve on the other stuff you could produce what you
are looking for.

Depending on where you live, the weather and temperatures this summer, coat could come on and definitely head can come on as a bitch matures. Hormones change and that changes the bitch. If you have structure, that's the frame for which everything depends on. Let her grow some more and see how she does.