Labrador Retriever Forum

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
SHOW PUPPIES

I would like to know REALLY how many SHOW PUPPIES if I were to say out of 100 make it in the show ring??? Not starting any fires, Im a newbie and need to know.

Re: SHOW PUPPIES

I always heard that 1 out of 4 that you think are show quality, actually work out to be competitive in the show ring. Also, look how many thousand Labradors are registered with the AKC every year and only about 100+ become champions every year.

I think 1 out of 10.

Depends on who the breeder is that you get a show potential pup from. Some breeders are very educated, have alot of experience, breed very consistently, and know how to pick a show potential pup. Others not so much.

We are relatively new at the showing/breeding (about 10 years from our first attempts). I can say that getting a good quality show dog is difficult at best. Our first two attempts ended up with a girl with epilepsy and then another girl with elbow dysplasia and kidney disease. We now have three CH's at home (all purchased from well established breeders). That said we have placed 5 other dogs to get those dogs (not including the first two I mentioned as we kept both of those as our pets). we even placed a dog back with the breeder that went Best Puppy in Show at a Labrador specialty because we did not think her look was what we wanted in my little pack (although she is stunning, just not our cup of tea). Naturally she is now only a point away from her CH and has some nice wins at specialties but we needed to go with what we like and not just whatever happens to be winning at the time.

Admittedly our own breedings have not yet lived up to the quality of dogs that we have purchased from other fine breeders (we are only three litters into this great hobby), but we are learning and continuing to ask a lot of questions from people who know about what it takes to produce great dogs.