Labrador Retriever Forum

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Pregnant by accident

Just found out that my 10 year old bitch is pregnant by accident to one of my guys that got loose recently in the kennels. I cant seem to get a straight answer as to the perils I am facing even from my vet. What are some thoughts on this? And you can save the antics as mistakes DO and have happened to a lot of us! I want to do the right thing here and the last thing I want to do is put my bitch in harms way!

Re: Pregnant by accident

I guess your girl's prior pregnancy history would be a reasonable guide to start with.

A long time Afghan breeder here in Western Australia (the breeder is now deceased) never bred any of her girls for the first time until they were about 8 or nine years old (I have no idea why) and to my knowledge never had any problems.

I had an oops pregnancy with a 10+ year old Maltese bitch many years ago. I not only did not know that she was pregnant, I was unaware until I found her in her bed happily nursing her singleton puppy. She was very pleased with herself and the puppy was just fine.

Good luck with the wicked old bat. I hope all goes well.

Man makes plans - God laughs.

I would think your girl, if she is in good physical shape, will not have too much of a problem whelping a litter.

(she was in good enough shape to get bred ;-)

I would make sure she is walked - kept toned and fit and you will have a wonderful litter - the best laid (no pun intended) of mice and men....

I have known of one and she did fine. Think she only had two pups. And she loved having them. Some girls are young at 10. I do love Gods plans sometimes just to show us he's there. Just keep her good and healthy.

I would take her off of any Senior food , if that is what she has been on. I would not look for a large litter, but the small litters are always the most fun !