Labrador Retriever Forum

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Producing to much Estrogen

My female started her first heat cycle and her uterus has swelled up so much that it is blocking her cervix and she is having to strain to go poop. She has been to an internist and they feel she is producing to much estrogen and this is causing all of the swelling. Has anyone ever had a situation like this happen to them before? If so, is there any medication or treatment that can help reduce the amount of estrogen that is being produced?

TIA

Re: Producing to much Estrogen

Yes, I had a bitch that did that. I kept a close eye on her during her heat cycles, but it never progressed to anything serious. Just one of those odd things...

Did the swelling go down as her heat cycle ended?

Re: Producing too much Estrogen

This is a subject I have lots of experience with!
I have a girl whose first season around 12 mo was a nightmare. Big estrogen flush and she gradually slowed down in her ability to pass stool, squatting and straining until we thought she might have an obstruction and took xray (she was still a chewing puppy). Nothing evident and vet put her on high residue diet to push things through. WRONG! Next xray showed grossly impacted intestine and a mega-colon type reaction where the overstretching caused all peristalsys to stop. Numerous enemas, added lactulose to low residue diet and pills to increase muscle movement(sorry, have to look up the name)didnt make much difference at this point. We are now day 8 of season and vet thinking a soft obstruction like stuffed toy, went in for exploratory surgery. Nothing blocking,just lack of movement! Got her cleaned out and she gradually recovered with low residue diet, lactulose, pumpkin, rice etc. and was fine.

Now I was scared about her next season and what happens if she has pups....
Questioned many longterm breeders who have NEVER seen this, but found an ancestor in the pedigree who had a similar problem.