Labrador Retriever Forum

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Would You call this a Show Quality Dog?

Hi, I purchased a puppy a while back from a Supposedly reputable breeder. The puppy is now almost 6 months old. Around the age of 3 months she began to develop a large amount of white on her abdominal are just behind her vagina infront of her nipples. From what I have read on ACK breed standard this would disqualiy her from showing as the amount has grown to the size of my palm, would it not? I contacted the breeder and basically she told me there was nothing wrong with how the dog looked I even sent her pictures. I talked with a lady who has been mentoring me in my conversion to what I call a true labrador and she said I should get rid of the puppy. I am new to conformation type dogs I used to breed the American style Labradors and I am trying really hard to have nice dogs and improve the breed not deminish it right now I am Looking for some nice show quality females and have had gotten rid of all of my American style dogs, so it is not like I am not trying to do the right thing. Any answers would be appreciated

Re: Would You call this a Show Quality Dog?

Not to be rude but ACK probably won't care. I don't think the AKC will care much either, especially if it's underneath and out of sight.

Maybe AKC wouldn't care, but what about the next generation? I certainly would care.

HMM... Thanks for the advice I know I spoke with a judge who belongs to my kennel club and he told me that if that were seen she would be disqualified and if she were excused from the show ring 3 times that she would be banned from AKC shows and I did not want that embarrassment for me or the dog since I am trying to establish myself and maitain the integrity of the breed. I also know from breeding dogs that coloration like that can and will pass on to the puppies and I would not want someone else to have to deal with that same issue.