Labrador Retriever Forum

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Canadian Breeders - CKC Registration

I just want to check with others to see if there is another, simpler way of registering puppies and litters than what I have been doing for the past 10 years.

Register the litter, then register individual puppies to the breeder, then transfer registration to new owners. Three separate transactions and three separate fees. Correct? Plus, nonbreeding agreements go in with transfers. I wonder why we cannot just register the litter and then register each puppy directly to the purchaser? Sure would save time and money. Also, am I the only one who resents having to go through a big ordeal with printing out a nonbreeding agreement for each purchaser to sign and then fill everything in and send with transfer. It would seem more logical if the breeder could just tick a box that said the puppy was sold on a nonbreeding agreement. Why should we require purchasers to sign a contract for this. Isn't it up to us how we register the puppies and if a purchaser wouldn't sign the contract or didn't want to buy with a nonbreeding agreement we wouldn't be selling to them anyway right?

Re: Canadian Breeders - CKC Registration

Sounds like a PIA and money grab. Is this still the way with the new on-line system???

I register them on the induvidual registrations to the new own, I don't register them to me.

Litter reg'n and then transfer, but they're never reg'd to me.

I also transfer to the new owners when I register the puppy individually, so it's not a 2 step process.