Labrador Retriever Forum

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Lab with persistent rash!

HELP!!! I am a newbie yellow lab(bitch) owner. She is 14 months old and has developed a rash, which we have been trying to eliminate for the past six months. This is what we have tried: 1. first round of antibiotics and prednisone - rash went away and then came back in 2 weeks. 2. second round of antibiotics and prednisone - rash went away and came back in one week 3. Fish oil and an immune booster, no success. 4. third round of antibiotics and prednisone, which we are tapering and redness is starting to come back. It starts with red membranes (ears, anus, inside ears and tummy and between hind legs.) The redness is itchy and bumps develop, some pustules. It turns dry/flaky and sometimes raw, especially where she is able to scratch and bite or rub. Recently she seems to be blowing her coat. Her bedding/crate, our house etc has not changed in anyway since she came to us. (no dryer sheets, baking soda unscented detergent. ) We are trying to eliminate a food allergy so she has been on a salmon based dog food for a month. ( no snacks or any other type of food allowed) Although I hate to keep using antibiotics and prednisone it seems to be the only thing that gives some reprieve. At times I have had to use benadryl because she rubs so hard and often that areas bleed (around her eyes and ears). She remains spirited, happy and well-behaved. No bad habits, or temperment changes. Has anyone had this experience or known of anyone who has? I have always owned dogs, but she is our first lab family member. We feel so bad watching her go through this. We are working with our vet and holistic pet store, but I wonder if anyone has further ideas/input? Please? I'm crying
...Signed: Deluxbury Lab Mom

Re: Lab with persistent rash!

Go to a dermatologist! You have spent mega $ probably already in the last several months with a general vet and holistic store you've stated.