Labrador Retriever Forum

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
retained testicle - early neuter? good/bad?

Can anyone give opinions on the timing of neutering a boy with an un-descended testicle?
This is a puppy I sold who is now about 5 months old and one testicle still has not dropped.
Their vet is telling them that they need to neuter by 6 months because not doing so will increase risk of cancer due to the retained testicle.
Is this right? It doesn't sound so accurate and almost seems like maybe the vet is using it as an excuse to get in there and neuter early even though my contract states that it becomes void for all health defects if neutered prior to 12 months.
Opinions?
Of course I want to do what's in the best interest of the puppy, but I have no experience with this issue and the risks involved, if any. If this is in fact the case, I would have no issues with neutering this boy at 6 months.
Thanks!

Re: retained testicle - early neuter? good/bad?

Years ago I bred a golden with SAS and a retained testicle.

He stayed with us and we always debated the question of putting the stress of the nueter surgery on his heart against the risk of cancer if we left him intact.

Eventually, I came upon the vet who is now my repo guy and his spin on the whole debate was that the risk of cancer in the undecended testicle was very very slim.

At nine years old, still intact, Moosie exceeded the life span we expected of him when we lost him to hemangiosarcoma just like his mother.

I would not rush to nueter based on the slim threat that a dog that young would be at risk of cancer. I think odds are in his favor if you give him some time to mature.