Labrador Retriever Forum

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
O.T. Horse question.

I am new to horses and was wondering something.. A horse we "were" interested in is a "tight" line breeding. The Sire is also the Grandsire on the Dam's side. So a father/ daughter breeding... Is that common practice in horses? It doesn't sound right to me. TIA to all you in the know about horses....

Re: O.T. Horse question.

Just as in dogs, this close of a line breeding is not the norm. Most likely someone jumped the fence.

I think I would ask the breeder what they were after when doing this breeding. Personally , I would love it in dogs, and in most breeds of horses too !

What breed of horse are you looking at? As in dogs, in certain breeds, tight line breeding is considered common place and in others taboo... Horses are no different. Also, are you purchasing this horse for breeding or solely for riding/showing purposes- this would also affect my decision. Lastly, are you looking at a mare, gelding or stallion, depending on which one would be another factor in my decision, as one would need to think of future value as well. JMHO.

I have been a long time enthusiast of Arabian horses, although have been out of it for some time and am now involved more in Thoroughbred pedigrees. Back in the 60's, in Arabian horses, it was not unusual to find horses so tightly line bred to one individual that the result would be advertised as 80% or more of the same horse! The Arabian stallion *Raffles comes to mind and Then *Bask-and I'm sure there are many others as their are numerous 'conservation' type breeders that breed only bloodlines from a certain source. The term Al Kamsa (can't remember if I spelled it right) would refer to horses that trace back in every line to only approved horses of Egytian decent (a fairly narrow gene pool).