Labrador Retriever Forum

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
puppy prices

I've been doing research - I showed shelties for over 10 years, bred a couple of litters, made up several champions and put obedience titles on all my dogs. I went through a divorce and am now ready to start my dog hobby again. I have also had labs but never show quality but just as pets.

I've recently been looking for a lab puppy hopefully to show, do obedience with but will also be my house pet regardless of how he/she turns out. There seems to be quite a range when buying from a reputable breeder... I'm confused, any input would be welcome.

Re: puppy prices

The best advice I can give to anyone looking, like you say you are, is patience!
Start going to dog shows, meet the dogs-owners-handlers and develop your eye so that you can find what you want to see in your backyard. Join a local Labrador Club and possibly an All-Breed Club too. Look at websites but remember seeing the dogs in person and developing relationships are more important that what you see in a photo.
But most of all have patience and enjoy your search.
Good Luck.

You might also consider subscribing to the Labrador Quarterly. They publish the results of specialty shows. They have a directory in the back of breeders by state. The directory would point you to breeders whose website you could then check out. And as pointed out earlier, get out and look at dogs. The specialty shows are the best place to see the nicest labs.

You've gotten some good advice. I might add that an advertisement in a magazine does not make a great Breeder, neither does a high price.

I've bought "lovely" prospects from terrific lines from longtime, respected Breeders for "pet price" with no strings. If you have good references and are sincere, try approaching folks at Specialties and you'll be glad you did!