Labrador Retriever Forum

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Get this bitch to eat

Hi I have a average size 8 month old bitch who is an extremely picky eater I have tried everything that I can thin of to get her to eat. All she does is pick at her food and I need her to put on a few pounds before I exhibit her again any suggestions?

Re: Get this bitch to eat

Quit trying so hard. Use tough love. Put her in her crate, put in her bowl of food, close the crate, and walk away. Give her 10 or 15 mins to eat, then remove the bowl and any food in it. Give her nothing until next meal time, and repeat. She will soon realize that it's either eat when it's offered or go hungry.

I have tried that she is a little Diva and will refuse to eat then I succumb to her and end up hand feeding but I will try again. As you can tell I am new to showing and she is the only dog that I am currently exhibiting and I really put a lot of effort into her and making sure she is in top shape. I will try this again tomorrow and see how that works. Thank you for your advice.

Bring another dog in and let it scarf down most of the food in front of her. Maybe the competition would spark an appetite?

After a growth spurt, dogs plateau which is common at this age. This may be the case here.

If all else fails, make your own food - the dogs love it. I had a male who wouldn't eat enough to keep weight on but he did very well on homemade food. Recipe follows: Chicken breast or venison, eggs, carrots, peas or beans, rice all cooked together. Once a week I added a fish oil pill and a vitamin B pill. He had a fabulous coat, good weight and lots of energy on this. I made it once a week in a huge stock pot and froze it in ziplock bags in serving sizes.

He is now retired and living with co owner who feeds kibble and he does not look nearly as good as when on the homemade diet.

Seeking knowledge
I have tried that she is a little Diva and will refuse to eat then I succumb to