Labrador Retriever Forum

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Does anyone start their babies on ProPlan Performance?

I see a lot of breeders feeding their puppies Pro Plan Puppy Chicken and Rice. Does anyone start their pups on Performance right away? I have an 11 week old that I bought and just started her on the Performance. Is this okay, or should I have started with the Puppy? This is my first time with a pup, have always purchased adults to show. She has nice bone and and I am concerned about keeping it and feeding her up nice and right for that bone growth.

Re: Does anyone start their babies on ProPlan Performance?

I raise my litter on puppy C & R and then any pups I run on are switched to PPP at the end of the bag. I personally feel 11 weeks is fine as PPP is for all life stages.

Thanks so much for the reply! I think we'll stay the course then.

I raise mine on PPP for years now! LOVE IT!!!

ProPlan Performance is the only thing my puppies ever get.

Choice of food is a very individual one. I wouldn't dream of feeding ProPlan Performance to puppies, but then
I wouldn't feed ProPlan to any of my dogs. Not highly enough rated by the sources I trust.

Well, I tried Wellness with a litter and what a disaster. . . diarrhea, failure to thrive. My vet tested for everything before we said it had to be the food. I switched to ProPlan Puppy and in two days everything was normal. I did have puppies who went home weighing 9 pounds, though. They couldn't catch up by 8 weeks.

As much as I wanted to try something that the food gurus call "better," it's Proplan all the way for me now. For my recent litter raised on PP Puppy (and had no digestion issues) I switched to PP Performance for the puppy I kept when he was 4 months old. All my adults eat PP Performance. For my next litter, I will try PP Performance from the beginning.