Labrador Retriever Forum

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
unsold puppies

Hi everyone,

Happy New Year! I am new to The Forum, new to breeding but have had my Labs for a while. I wanted to get some opinions about selling "leftover" puppies from a large litter.
I have 2 puppies left from a large September litter. Some of my deposits were for yellow puppies, some wanted to wait till the Spring. Nonetheless, the 2 that are left are now 16 weeks. I have advertised minimally in our local feed and tack shops but I am reluctant to go any further with my advertising for fear of running into the wrong people. And, as I am new to breeding, I don't want to appear as though I am just like the other backyard breeders in the area by advertising in papers and the local grocery store!!(we are in the south and irresponsible breeding is all over!) And we are in an area where people are not educated about well bred purebreds and will purchase a puppy with little or no paperwork just because of the reduced price.
Of course everyone and their brother will "take" a puppy off my hands but not only would that devalue the ones I have sold but that doesn't seem like a good practice to start.
Anyway, any thoughts on what to do at this point? Anyone run into similar situations? Of course they are welcome here, continue their shot, worming and Heartgard schedule and continue to thrive. Just wondered where I go from here without appearing desperate!!

Thanks

Re: unsold puppies

It's a poor time for selling puppies for most everyone. I would definitely drop my price enough to place them now condsidering their age. The older they get, the harder it will be. Of course letting them go to good homes only. I don't see that it devalues the ones you have sold at full price at all. Times are tough all over.

Is there a service dog group in your area who would accept donated puppies? I like to do that anyway - they need nice puppies in their programs more than I need an extra puppy price.