Labrador Retriever Forum

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Heights and use of wickets

I'm new to showing and have a girl that is entered in her first show in a couple of weeks with a handler. She is 19 months old and she is on the small side, just 21.5 inches at the withers (if I'm measuring her correctly). How often do dogs get wicketed and since the standard has a .5 fudge factor, would they set the wicket at 21 inches?

No worries, Re: Heights and use of wickets

I hope that we won't see the return of the wicket in a ring near you OR me!
That being said, your girl meets the standard. No worries. She should not seem small in height, but maybe her substance is moderate?

Re: Heights and use of wickets

First of all, at 21.5 inches, she is not small. Secondly, there is no "fudge" factor. According to the standard, an adult bitch who measures below 21" would not be tall enough. One who measures taller than 23" would also wicket out.

maybe I miss read but the standard reads...
The height at the withers for a dog is 22½ to 24½ inches; for a bitch is 21½ to 23½ inches. Any variance greater than ½ inch above or below these heights is a disqualification.

I thought the variance of .5 inch was a "fudge factor" sorry. thanks for the correction :)This will be my girls first show and I have a lot to learn.

Be glad she's on the small end, most bitches today are. I have a lovely bitch who is 23 1/2 inches exactly. I put an obedience title on her but would never enter her in conformation b/c she's looks unusual next to the shorter girls.

correction of a typo. The AKC standard says 21.5 to 23.5 inches for a bitch. A bitch would wicket out if she is taller than 24".

Moderate Labs
I hope that we won't see the return of the wicket in a ring near you OR me!