Labrador Retriever Forum

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
The skinny on dog food

Hi,
relative Newbie here, trying to get a better understanding of what should and should not be in dog food. I do understand some of the basics of label reading, and understand how dry meal as early ingredient vs whole meat (like chicken which contains water - inflates the weighted value), and I understand how many grains are broken up to comprise less of a food...I have many questions and am hoping someone can help:
so many people are going grain free. I know that grains can be a good source of energy, so why are they bad? Can anyone point me in the direction of research so I can figure out what does make a proper dog food?

How much of a dog's diet should be protein? How do I figure out Calories, and once I figure it out, how much of any food is actually available to my dog.

Is there really a difference from one protein to another, from one grain to another, if it all comes down to the type of nutrient, and the calories???

TIA

Re: The skinny on dog food

Try going to the AAFCO web site. On the forum you will find science mixed with fact mixed with old wives' tales mixed with anecdotes mixed with money mixed with anything else and you will be more confused than ever. http://www.aafco.org/

You won't find much on the AAFCO website, I don't know why that link was posted. You can find a list of the most current AAFCO standards here: http://www.peteducation.com/article.cfm?c=2&aid=662

For a more in depth look at the research that went into setting the standards you can buy this book: http://www.nap.edu/catalog.php?record_id=10668 but you will need a strong science background to understand it.