Labrador Retriever Forum

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
entropeon in upper & lower eye lids??

we just placed a beautiful lab in a wonderful pet home becuase he was diagnosised with entropeon in lower eye lids approx 6 months by my vet.

Their vet checked him at 7 months, and confirms entropeon in lower eye lids, but also suspects entropeon in upper eye lids, too.

I told them it would be best to take him to an opthomologist for consultation & surgery. I have never heard of entropeon in upper eye lids for a labrador retriever.

My questions is this, Is it possible to have entropeon in top eye lids for a labrador??

Is this typical with entropeon to be in top & bottom eye lids for a labrador?

I have been breeding for 10 years, and I have never heard of entropeon in upper eye lids on a labrador.

Re: entropeon in upper & lower eye lids??

Alot of times, alot I mean, puppies outgrow the bottom entropian. It is usually on a puppy that is going to have a substantial head piece. You can have them tacked, or like me , just drop them every day and watch him grow into it all. No surgery. And by the way, he is now 5 mos, and is CERF. No cut happy Vet in his life.

The last thing I would have done , is to place a beautiful puppy on a routine Vet's opinion. That is what Opthamoligists are for. And by far, the first thing I would have done is to get a second opinion before letting a promising puppy go. Dogs are NOT perfect , if you are waiting for the perfect one to arrive in your whelping box, that just won't happen.

Re: entropeon in upper & lower eye lids??

He does have a really nice big head piece. He did not get entropeon until about 5 months.

I know there is nothing perfect, he was close; but I have never heard of a lab having entropein on upper eye lids.

I should have gotten an opinion from an opthomologist, but it was obvious he had it in both lower eye lids. My vet said to wait & see if he out grows it, and gave me eye ointment.