Labrador Retriever Forum

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
nice camera to start making great pics

Hello everyone!

I'm planning on taking a hobby photography course for beginners and getting myself a nice camera to make great pictures of my dogs..

I'm a layman on the photography topic... can somebody give me references on a nice camera to start? Easy to handle and great quality images.

Thank you all! Christiano.

Re: nice camera to start making great pics

I'm partial to Canon cameras - both my husband and I have higher-end models, along with way too many lenses. But to take nice pictures, I'd suggest starting with a Canon Rebel and perhaps upgrading the stock lens and go from there (you're better off with a more expensive lens than a better camera). Even the entry-level DSLR cameras can take very high quality pictures. You can buy a used Rebel for quite cheap, just make sure you buy it from a reputable store.

Thank you Patty for your information and time! I'm googling Canon Rebel right now to check on prices.

I came across Nikon D 5000 and D3100. They seem to be good. Do you have references on them?

hugs, Christiano.

LOL - either you are a Canon person, or Nikon person. Both brands are really good - I prefer Canon, but it's really a personal choice. Perhaps if you can go to a camera shop and look at/hold both brands and see if you prefer one feel over the other, that might help you decide.