Labrador Retriever Forum

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
inverted vulva,final outcomes

For those who have kept bitch pups with an inverted vulva, how many have met with the success of it resolving on first heat? Also,did these bitches produce it in their offspring?

A friend has one and is asking if she should keep the pup. I have no experience on this,so I ask for your help. Thanks in advance

Re: inverted vulva,final outcomes

I have had numerous inverted vulvas, in my pups. I have NEVER had a problem with them and have bred the girls. Is it hereditary? I don't know. I never paid that much attention because they resolve themselves after the first heat cycle. Also, I haven't had problems with UTIs because of it.
There is no reason not to keep a pup with a IV.
I also state in my health contract that surgery to fix the IV voids the contract. There are vets that will try to force puppy buyers to do the surgery. It is costly, painful, and many times the pup becomes incontinent.

My pick has an IV and I've not had any problems either, no UTI's. At 5 months her vulva already looks much better, almost normal, no heat yet.

ETA: I wanted to add that I don't give cran caps or any supplements. There was 3 other pups in that litter with IV's and the new puppy owners aren't supplementing either, no UTI's. All vets involved were familiar with IV's and all felt supplementing wasn't necessary. So far so good! The pup that I picked was inverted the most out of the 4 IV's that I had but I was told that it wouldn't be an issue.

I was just reading in a new veterinary reproduction book I purchased about a relatively recent study that followed 7 bitches with recessed vulvas and/or chronic vaginitis (which can also be a result of a recessed vulva).