Labrador Retriever Forum

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Judges that are not tooth fairies?

Would anyone be willing to name some all-breed judges who are not overly focused on full dentition? My female is missing a few and got knocked hard at a show last weekend. I'm new to labradors, so am unfamiliar with what judges to look for. I assume *most* breeder judges would be more forgiving of missing teeth? Also, are there any finished dogs or bitches missing more than one tooth that have finished, that I could look up show records for, to get names of judges that awarded them points?

Thank you,
Kristy Faulk, ND

Re: Judges that are not tooth fairies?

There are a LOT of finished dogs with multiple missing teeth. There are also a lot of missing teeth in the classes these days, so you are not alone.

Many of the long time all-breed judges don't look at anything but the front bite. Judges are suppose to look for full dentition as it is in the standard, and if the AKC rep is watching ringside the judges will look at the full mouth. Avoid the Hartingers. I don't really watch as I don't have that problem, but I would say to avoid provisional and newer judges especially those that come from Dobermans and other breeds that count teeth. You can look up judges on AKC web site and see what their original breed was and when they were approved.

For the most part, all-breed judges frown upon missing teeth. Some more than others of course. Particularly ones who judge working breeds! Missing teeth has been a big topic in past discussion on this forum...Good Luck to you!

Thank you everyone, very useful information. If anyone has some specific judges they know to avoid, my e-mail is listed as well.

We plain on campaigning my bitch, but I don’t want to waste money, either. I realize once I pick the right handler they should have any idea, as well, but in the mean time I’m doing the showing so am kind of on my own.

Kristy Faulk.

Breeder12 gave the real answer: