Labrador Retriever Forum

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
order of classes at shows

I found this on the AKC site in the rules and regulations for dog shows. My question is, do the classes always go in this order at AKC sanctioned shows? (My puppy grew up and I'm still new at this.)

SECTION 3. The regular classes of The American Kennel Club shall be as follows:
Puppy
Twelve-to-Eighteen Month
Novice
Amateur Owner Handler
Bred-by-Exhibitor
American-bred
Open
Winners
These classes shall be divided by sex.

Re: order of classes at shows

And open is always

Black
Chocolate
Yellow

Pete
I found this on the AKC site in the rules and regulations for dog shows. My question is, do the classes always go in this order at AKC sanctioned shows? (My puppy grew up and I'm still new at this.)

SECTION 3. The regular classes of The American Kennel Club shall be as follows:
Puppy
Twelve-to-Eighteen Month
Novice
Amateur Owner Handler
Bred-by-Exhibitor
American-bred
Open
Winners
These classes shall be divided by sex.

No these classes do not always go on this order at specialty shows. Classes are juggled so that there will be minimal conflicts and there is also the option of dividing the 12-18 month class into 2 classes- 12-15 and 15-18. Puppy classes are 6-9, 9-12 and AKC has added the option of 4-6 as a special class with special rules too. Additionally, the club has the option of dividing any and all classes by recognized colors, Black, AOC or Black, Yellow and Chocolate. Confused yet?

Confused? Oh, yeah....it's an all breed show if that makes a difference.....

Open can be Black, Yellow, Chocolate, depends on the Super

Yep
And open is always

Black
Chocolate
Yellow

This is completely wrong information. No, the classes do not always go in that order. In fact, at specialties, they rarely go in that order. And, Open is not always Black, Chocolate, Yellow. Different superintendents will do it different. I believe it is Rau that does Black, Yellow, Chocolate.