Labrador Retriever Forum

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
stud collection/management

I have been in the breed less then 10 years so I am still learning. I am looking for the advice and wisdom of those who are more experienced then I. I have a young stud dog (under 16 months) that I have collected on several occasions. However unlike my older boy who gives what I feel is a normal size collection, this younger male is only giving a 1 cc collection. It appears to the naked eye to be a rich collection however I have not taken him for a semen analysis yet since he is young.

Is a 1 cc collection normal for an inexperienced stud dog? I tried a teaser bitch but the collection amount was the same. Is a collection of 1 cc enough to extend and ship if its rich enough, and get a bitch pregnant? What would you advise to do to prepare a young male for stud use, and are there any supplements that can increase the size/quality of his collection?

Thank you in advance to those who want to teach and not flame someone who is only trying to learn

Re: stud collection/management

He is not giving you and prostratic fluid. This can happen with young/inexperienced dogs. I have a young male that did this first few times he was collected. I would just have the Minitube AI product on hand if you need to create volume for a side by side AI. 1 cc is not enough volume unless you are doing a TCI or surgical.