school refusers

a resource for parents 

Please feel free to join our School Refuser message forum discussions. If you have experience of school refusing, you may find it appropriate to respond to previous posts.  Or you may be feeling isolated and wish to express your feelings.  Whatever, your contribtions are welocme. 

No registration required - just get posting!

School Refusal
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
View Entire Thread
Re: I'm new to school refusal,help!!

That's why we are here, Kelly! To give you somewhere to rant!

I cannot imagine how you feel, but I know how my wife felt when I disappeared off to work leaving her to pick up the pieces - and how I felt on the commute. How I made it in one piece, I'll never know.

Looking after the others, and yourself, is really important. I am under some pressure (not child related) so this is just a quick note to say I am thinking of you, and your son.

Simon

Hi Kelly

Thinking of you too. I know what you mean by the behaviour overlap.
We haven't had smooth sailing either. My son didn't attend classes last week and missed Monday's class this week.Yes we have taken big steps forward but not out of the wilderness yet. I have felt sick in my stomach worrying all week!!

Remember to remind the school of their responsibility in the law as you are doing all you can to get him there...and about the case that got thrown out of court. They don't have to go down this road...as not all schools do. I know you don't probably have the energy but putting it back on the school to provide work or tutors seems to be your right in the circumstances.
Hang in there....and remember that school just doesn't seem to work for some kids so you may have to seek out what else is out there in your area.
Feel free to rant any time. The forum is good like that and everyone gets what you are going through. I am sure there will be help for you somewhere along the way.
Take care
Linda