To Stud Dog Owners

Lets say one of your top dogs was bred to a really
nice bitch twice via chilled. The bitch had a
previous litter but did not take either time
for whatever reason. Semen shipped from a long
distance by the way.
Your contract says only 1 repeat breeding if
she did not take the first time.
Bitch owner still wants a puppy from your boy.
Would you offer a puppy to that person in leiu
of the stud fee,shipping,boxes,progesterone
tests,advertising the litter etc.??

Re: To Stud Dog Owners

Absolutely! If both parties can come to an acceptable deal then you might even get lucky and have it be the start of a nice friendship.

Nope, I am not a newbie by any means, only smart enough to know that it's a small Labrador world, don't burn bridges but you can get a lot further with the help of other breeders than without.

As someone else had posted..take from this advice what you will. You could be doing yourself and another BREEDER a tremendous favor

Re: Re: To Stud Dog Owners

I agree with Butt Tuck. I have a bitch that is coming back for her 3 time. The only difference is that she has never had a litter. I am determined to have her get pregnant.

Maybe a vaginal smear and antibiotics are in order when she comes in heat again.

It pays off when you are patient and congenial with problem bitches and their owners. JMO

not if it's not the fault of the stud dog that the bitch never got pg. As long as the semen was good, no. The fee is for viable semen period.

oh, and you are not alone losing a stud fee because your bitch could not conceive. It's happened to me twice. I did not get a puppy although I did ask.

Re: Re: To Stud Dog Owners

I would offer the pup situation. "What goes around comes around"

Re: Re: Re: To Stud Dog Owners