Labrador Retriever Forum

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Pet food poison

The ASCPA website has a new post regarding the etiology of the poison. They believe it to be melamine. Not the rat poison as previously been posted. This is from the FDA. Melamine is not supposed to be toxic to dogs. There have been studies. But I am a chemist and have done some research. Antifreeze causes kidney failure with an abundance of calcium oxalate crystals. Melamine is from urea and formaldehyde. I read some research that says the citrate acts as a primary chelator or urinary calcium inhibiting urolithiasis, while oxalate promotes the formation of calcium oxalate. I still believe it is a different parent compound. Not just Melamine. There is a fertilizer tryichloromelamine. At the most the data shows that melamine fed in abundance to rats just caused tumors. I would like to know what kind of crystals these vets are seeing in the urine.

Re: Pet food poison

So, are they for sure that it is NOT rat poison?
Do they know the dates that this whole thing started?
I felt safe, as we feed dry food.
but now, I am worried.......

My dog was sick from a rat poison and we know for sure.We also know that she ate the wet food that was recalled. Im sure there is more then one poison involved as well as rat, Sure is scary for the other animals that may be sickened and showing no signs.
My girl showed signs of big thirst constantly and couldnt hold the urine for more then two hours, she went to be spayed and started bleeding on the table. SHe also had two blood tranfusion. Good thing doctor had seen rat poison symptoms and treated her with Vit, K. All pups where checked as well and so far good news with the PT.Her Pt is back to normal so .

Re: Re: Pet food poison