Labrador Retriever Forum

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
No viable sperm in a three year old

I have a three year old who was seen by a well regarded repo vet today. My boy was to be "collected" today...the collection was successful BUT no viable sperm at all. One previous unsuccessful attempt to collect him two weeks ago (same vet), prior to that he is a total novice to such an experience (as am I). Can anyone direct me to additional info on this type of scenario. The vet mentioned additional testing, some of which sounds invasive and I do not want to put this fella through any invasive procedures (ie: testicular biopsy?) We had just intended to collect and freeze if future opportunity presented itself- it had been our intention to neuter this boy post. I would just like to understand more about what might have caused this and make sure there isn't anything more significant underlying this- as the vet mentioned, he is young & in good health otherwise. I will be following up with his regular vet. (This fellow has all clearances hips/elbows and eyes). Thanks in advance for any assistance.

Re: No viable sperm in a three year old

Did they use a teaser bitch? Some boys won't give it up otherwise, especially the young, inexperienced ones.

Re: Re: No viable sperm in a three year old

Yes, they did use a "teaser".

I had the same problem and the sperm was back a few months later

Have you ever done a natural breeding with this boy?

When my boy went sterile, he was around 4 or so at the time I think, my repro vet said that he could do a testicular biopsy but the most frequent consequence of doing that was that that testicle became sterile forever. So he did not recommend doing it unless I was going to neuter him and then why bother doing a biopsy. We did do an ultrasound and saw nothing except a smaller than normal testicle.