Labrador Retriever Forum

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Bad Films - Bad OFA Rating Question

I had a new vet shoot my final OFA x-rays. The elbows looked good and passed. The hips didn't look that great on film - but not terrible. I have been breeding for several years and looked at MANY x-rays...like I said, the positioning was not the greatest, but not terrible. However, OFA reported them as "mild dysplasia". I want to take them to another vet for a resubmit. Should I? Or just spay and place? She is a nice girl - tons of bone and coat. I would like to use her if she is sound. Has anyone had success with a resubmit?

Re: Bad Films - Bad OFA Rating Question

I have read on here when someone posted that that once OFA reads as fail it is in the file and will not pass no matter how many times you submit.

This is why someone I know sent her films to OVC in Ontario Canada to get a pass.

Anyone else?

RE-submit, never spay and place a dog without a do-over !

And never use an inexperienced vet either for something as important as films !

Re: Re: Bad Films - Bad OFA Rating Question

If you love this bitch that much, yes, have the films done again, but be sure it is by someone who knows what they're doing! Ask around, find out who your other breeder friends are using. Like Shalane said,
" never use an inexperienced vet either for something as important as films !" Ain't it the truth?

Good luck on your do-over!

I've heard of many cases where the OFA has made mistakes, reporting dysplastic hips and upon resubmission, the dog gets a Good or Excellent. The OFA is not fool proof, they have and do make major mistakes. I wouldn't throw the baby out with the bathwater. Especially if you believe the positioning was off. But I would wait at least 6 months to ensure that the vets reading for OFA have been rotated.