Labrador Retriever Forum

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Canidae food

Does anyone feed this food and what are your thoughts good or bad? TIA!

Re: Canidae food

I think food is a breeder's religion. It's very personal and the subject is rarely discussed without emotion. I have fed the same food for 20 years. Attempts to convert me to designer brands or raw foods haven't worked. If your dogs' coat, pads, nails, energy levels and longevity has been good - you have a 'good' food.

Do a forum search on Canidae. This topic came up 2 weeks ago. I have fed it for over 7 years and it has been great for my dogs.

Re: Re: Canidae food

I have been feeing Canidae to all of my labs for over 7 years also. I have had nothing but good things come from feeding this food to my dogs. They all have wonderful coats, no ear/skin problems, good weight. I am also a breeder of labs and start my puppies on this food when they are a couple months old. I don't start off right away because sometimes I do think it might be a bit rich for them wiht the 4 meat sources though. Now they have Chicken&Rice and Lamb&Rice though. When I sell my puppies off and I see them 6-9 months later I can tell who feed my puppies canidae and who feed them other foods. The ones with Canidae in my opinion have much better thicker coat and better shine. OF course this is just my opinion.

One of my dogs ate canidae (till everyone had to eat the same food for a food trial). She has always had a beautiful coat, and is in great health. She ate the regular (4 meat kind) then the lamb and rice for about a year. I really like it
barb