Labrador Retriever Forum

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
What does "typey" mean to you?

"Typey" is such an interesting word, I think we all have an idea of what we consider typey to mean. Just looking for other (especially more experienced)thoughts. TIA

Re: What does "typey" mean to you?

Looks, acts like a Lab is "Typey" to me. Some people breed their own "type".

Re: Re: What does "typey" mean to you?

i was actually talking about this with someone a couple days ago. i am new to all this, but i associated type with how a dog looked, and acted as well. just how many types for labs are there?
adam

Re: Re: Re: What does "typey" mean to you?

I think we do ourselves a disservice when we speaking of breeding different "types", as in "Mrs. BreederX breeds for a different type than I like". Yes, the dictionary confirms this usage as correct...but to avoid confusion within dog-breeding circles, I think we would be better off using "strain" or "look", and reserve "type" for the meaning it's always had for the old breeders...

...simply put, the characteristic stamp of a breed; that set of traits which sets a dog unquestionably and unmistakably apart as a LABRADOR and none other.

Re: Re: Re: Re: What does "typey" mean to you?

I like the lean look of the Field Lab... sleek, breed standard height, a little longer nose, not much, just all around more athletic look. I don't like the "hound dog" looking ears, and I don't care for the snippy nose.