Labrador Retriever Forum

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Stud dog question

Just thought I might throw this out there:

I co-own a girl who just came into season and will be bred via AI when the time is right.

The stud dog was chosen by my girl's breeder/co-owner and I have never seen a photo of him. I have been requesting this for about 9 months, since her last season and there is always some excuse from the stud owner, such as "I have to log on to my other computer", "I need to take a new one", "I have to upload them from my camra" etc etc ad nauseum.

At this point, all but the puppy going to the co-owner are mine, I paid the stud fee and I have fabulous homes waiting for all of the puppies, each one of them carefully screened by me, under my guarentee etc. I am starting to feel played. I wonder what I must sound like to my puppy people who want to see pictures of their baby's father. I don't even have copies of his OFA reports, just what is on the site.

Question is, how do I tell both the co-owner and the stud dog owner I am not comfortable unless I see at least a photo? Do I just pretend I am ok with this? Simply stated, am I wrong for wanting to see what this dog looks like? I trust my girl's co-owner and I have been told why the dog is a good match for my girl, I just want to see for myself!

Re: Stud dog question

Umm, just tell them?!? It is absolutely your right to see the dog you're paying money for, though apparently your contract gave the breeder/co-owner the right to choose the stud dog. As far as OFAs - many don't bother to send them out - I just print them off of the OFA website myself, which is fine with me.

As they say - "Just Do It"!

Get a picture or don't do the breeding!
There is no excuse for that kind of BS.