Labrador Retriever Forum

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Dog Food Analysis

Check out what you are feeding.

http://www.dogfoodanalysis.com/

You can use the search to find your particular brand or else view by ratings.

Reading the reviews enlightened me about beet pulp, ethoxyquin etc.

Re: Dog Food Analysis

I've been using this site for the last 18 months.

What I like about it is that it gives a fairly thorough analysis of the products that are in a particular dog food.

It may open the eyes of some to find out exactly what some of the ingredients in the "popular" dog foods actually are and how they may not be good for your guy or gal.

I would strongly recommend a visit to this informative site.

Rich R.,
Did you come to any conclusions or find a food that works for you? I'm still looking, it's difficult.

Re: Re: Dog Food Analysis

Noname,

Actually, I did. The site was extremely helpful because it educated me about reading dog food labels with its analysis of every dog food (I think that it looked at over 600). I stay clear of the lower three groups (which, as you know, basically encompasses everything that is found in supermarkets and large pet stores). I try to pick from groups 4 and 5.

I got my girl at 13 months from a breeder. She was being fed California Natural Chicken and Rice for puppies. I kept her on that until 18 months and then switched to the Adult formula, same brand. I know several people that have used Canidae All Stages and tried that for several months. It is an excellent food but found my girl itching and getting bad ears. Switched back to CAl Nat for about 6 months. Now, I have two medium sized bags of Innova Adult that I am about to start. I really like the ingredients. My breeder is currently feeding that to her 4 and is having very nice results with coats. My vet also feeds the Senior Innova to her dog, and the vet did her own independent analysis.