Labrador Retriever Forum

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Females in season smell

OK I have a question for you all. I am new to the girls and my lady has been in season a couple of times now. She has a distinct 'smell' about her while she is menstruating. It's not horrid, but not pleasant either. Well she is due in a couple of weeks and there is a nasty odor in the room she sleeps and plays in alot (due to the hot/ humid weather. )
There is a brand new air filter and a brand new air conditioner in there. We put them both in about a mos ago and have had no problems. All of a sudden this morning this odor appeared. I have wiped down all the woodwork and furniture with Murphy's Oil Soap, vacuumed and scrubbed the floors. Changed the filters on both new machines, and opened the windows... As soon as I close the room up again, YIKES!!! I can't describe the smell as I have never smelled it before. It doesn't smell like her normal heat cycles, though a few days ago it did. Could it possibly be that she is due soon??? Any ideas??? I am totally at a loss.

Re: Females in season smell

It's not an infection of some sort is it? Mine don't have a smell like that. Do others in your family smell it also? some are just more sensitive.

Re: Re: Females in season smell

Is she acting normal? If not, take her to the vet in case it is pyometri (sp)

Re: Re: Re: Females in season smell

I have one girl who just plain stinks when she is in season. Healthy and happy...just stinky

Re: Re: Re: Re: Females in season smell

I can always tell when my girls are in season too, besides the obvious, mine have a distinct "in season" odor.

My girl gets a small odor and greasy skin just prior to every heat and I will bathe her when she gets this odor and then the smell stays away until her next heat.

First of all, bitches do not have menstrual cycles...only primates have these. Bitches have estrus cycles which are vastly different.