Labrador Retriever Forum

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
co-ownership commonalities?

I'm just getting started and the breeder I've found would like to co-own the bitch pup I want. This seems very commonplace and I am fine with it,even looking forward to it. She also wants me to pay normal pup price and she gets a pup back from first breeding. I also have no issue with giving a pup back from first litter should she make it through her Ch. and we both feel at that point she's something worth breeding. I would even feel right about a pup from second breeding should she want that. However is it normal to pay full puppy price (that she advertises) on a co-own?

Re: co-ownership commonalities?

Breeders have different contracts so it depends on the breeder. My personal experience was that the price was reduced on a co-own (and you would pay all the regular expenses) and the breeder would get a puppy back or two puppies.

Lots of different arrangements are made and it is all based on what works for both parties at the time. I've heard of co-ownerships where the puppy is sold and the breeder retains all breeding rights - the bitch goes to the breeder to whelp pups and all of the pups are sold by the breeder, and then the girl goes back to her family. I've also heard of the bitch being given outright (free) and co-owned on paper.

Re: Re: co-ownership commonalities?

If the breeder is going to get a pup back, you might want to stipulate what pick in writing. (and put everything in writing, btw)

If you are paying full price, maybe the breeder would be willing to take second pick of the litter?