Labrador Retriever Forum

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Insurance policy question

Does anyone hold an extra insurance policy to cover liability for their dogs/kennel?
I'm interested in a policy to cover if the dogs hurt someone, got loose and caused an accident, died in a fire, etc...
If you do, what is the average cost?
This is not going to be a homeowners policy, it will be an added separate policy in addition to our existing policy.
Thanks!!

Re: Insurance policy question

GO thru the Farm Bureu (sp?) much cheaper with exceptional coverage.

Well, I do insurance for a living...have to support the arfs... Insurance laws will vary from state to state, hence the reason we are licensed in our state of business only. However, some basic truths do follow...

Your Home policy is the FIRST area that coverage will fall into. Whether you want it to or not. What you are describing falls under the heading of a liability only claim (dog bite, dog trips someone, runs out into road and causes accident, et al). If you don't have a kennel as a business (verify with your accountant if you're not sure), you would want to make sure that you have sufficient coverage on your home and then probably would want to supplement it with an additional Personal Liability Umbrella policy. This would add an additional $1 Mil or more over what you normally carry on your Home (typically $500K but check with your agent), and would also give you additional coverage on your autos, as well.

The sticky part comes with dogs and insurance companies...some are just better to deal with than others... I have heard of some carriers cancelling a client just because they had more than 2 dogs (even if they were show dogs and not a breeding/kennel operation). "The AKC Gazette" had an article on problems with insurance carriers for dog people about a year or two ago...maybe you can find an archive copy?