Labrador Retriever Forum

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
beginnings & foundation stock

I am totally new to the sport of conformation.

I have purchased 2 young boys (18 and 4 mo) with a pedigrees I admire to get myself started on learning to show. I have been working with a local lab breeder for sometime now. And I have a mentor who breeds some of the top dachshunds in the country. I have learned alot from her concerning health and line breeding practices. She is truely a blessing to me! Unfortunately, I live in the middle of nowhere, and everything is so far away from me. breed specific info is what I am missing in my education.

To get to my questions-
How do you pick a foundation bitch?

I have been to many shows but I am so shy, how do you approach someone to start a conversation, they seem so busy with the showing?

What is the proper amount of "lay back of shoulder" in a labrador? I am so used to looking at the doxies, I unsure what to look for in my own dogs.

Whats the best resource for pedigree information? research? I'm basically self taught so far studying pedigrees and photos, getting an idea of what dogs/lines are behind what I like.

Re: beginnings & foundation stock

If you haven't already, look through some of the archived threads on this forum (shoulders/fronts are addressed in the last one).

http://woodhavenlabsforum.com/breedersforum/index.php?board=6.0

Re: beginnings & foundation stock

Go to www.alibris.com and www.abebooks.com and www.dogwise.com and purchase some good books and study them. The first two sources are for rare, old and used books. Many of the books below are actually out of print.

anything written by Mary Roslin Williams
("Dual Purpose Labrador" and "Advanced Labrador breeding" the newer edition is called "Reaching for the Stars")
"The Ultimate Labrador Retriever" by Heather Wiles-Fone
"The Versatile Labrador Retriever" by Nancy Martin
Labrador Retrievers Today by Carol Coode