Labrador Retriever Forum

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Get my girl pregnant

I am new in this, my girl will start her heath any day now.
So, please, can some of the experts of the forum explain or tell me a way to assure that the AI will be done the days she is ovulating.

Here in my Country, they just do the AI every other day starting on day 10, give or take.

How do you know when she is ovulating and make that day or those days the AI so she gets pregnant.

I hope I wrote my english right.

Thank you

Re: Get my girl pregnant

Hi,
Do you have progesterone testing in your country? The testing of your girl's blood to determine when she is ovulating? ARe there any canine reproductive vets that could assist you?

Thank you.

There are some vets that are learning.

Well, I can do the blood testing for progesterone in a human lab and say is human, I heard this somewhere, what does the progesterone tells you?, do you have to do the blood test every day?

Re: Re: Get my girl pregnant

Carlo

Contact the Cornell Diagnostic Lab, Upper Tower Road, Ithaca, NY 14853. Phone: 607-253-3900. I don't have an email for them. Maybe they can point your vets in the right direction. They want vets to learn the proper technique. Good luck.

Re: Re: Re: Get my girl pregnant

Or maybe to Clone.com and they have clinics all over that you could pull the blood and send to them for a time to breed.

Wherever or however you're able to get her blood drawn for progesterone, do it, usually starting around day 6-7 of her cycle. You're looking for her Progesterone level to get to 5.0. At this level, she is ovulating. Strategic breeding times are 2 days and 4 days AFTER she reaches a 5.0 on her progesterone.