Labrador Retriever Forum

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
hobby versus kennel and the IRS

Breeder you got me thinking with this quote:

"So, would this put you under the hobby breeder category? You would have to check out with each state and you also have to pay state taxes and IRS taxes and probably have to change your income tax and claim your kennel as a business."

Now I realize this is probably a state to state thing, but I am new to lab breeding and I wonder about taxes for 2007. I could never afford to do this FT, I do have an income. But what can you write off if you are a hobby breeder? I track my food, vet bills, supplies, new dogs purchased for my program. Can you write off dog show costs? How many litters do you need to have to be a hobby versus a business. I had one litter last year and my accountant (who I am not sure knows much about this) says I need to reg as a LLC and claim everything. I was in the red last year and already know I will be this year as well. She also made a comment that I can only claim a loss for a couple years

I am horrible with this stuff so I was hoping that some people, especially those like I who do this for fun and only have 2-3 litters a year at MOST, would share

Re: hobby versus kennel and the IRS

A business is supposed to be run with the intent to turn a profit. I guess in other words, you couldn't claim something is a business just to write off expenses year after year, at some point you have to show a profit. Best to check with a CPA. There can be income from a hobby too though.

Re: Re: hobby versus kennel and the IRS

The IRS rule is that you are to show a loss no more than 3 years out of 5. There are exceptions if the loss continues.